Forum Thread
An open letter to all mod-makers and game designers. (Forums : Development Banter : An open letter to all mod-makers and game designers.) Locked
Thread Options 1 2
EdgeFilm
EdgeFilm Birthstar Creator
Jan 18 2005 Anchor

My name is Matt Collins. I am a filmmaker and screenwriter living in Los Angeles and I need your help. My partner, David Carson (director of “Star Trek: Generations“) and I have been developing a science fiction universe called “Birthstar” for the Sci Fi Channel over the past few months. During the development phase it was suggested to us that this premise might make an incredible video game. I began to focus on how this could become just that.
In its present state, “Birthstar: Frontline,” has the potential to be the next great gaming IP. It is essentially like “Platoon” in space. Hyper-realistic gameplay similar to “Ghost Recon” or “Rainbow Six” with the intensity and scale of “Call of Duty” wrapped in a gritty far-future science fiction setting. It will also be the first game to incorporate sixteen-player cooperative play into the game’s story with unique characters each with their individual roles in the military unit that is the focus of the game’s story. Needless to say, it is an ambitious project that has the potential to revolutionize how games are made. There are many more features to the game that I’m not about to expound on here.
Having been consulting with Seamus Blackley (inventor of the X-Box) and Larry Shapiro (President of EA Australia) who are now heading up the gaming department at our agency, they suggested we create a demo of the game in order to coax investors into funding the full project. The way to create this demo? Modding of course. They literally handed me a copy of UT 2004 and said, “get modding.” Now, I’m a big gamer, but I am in no way a game-maker. Even the seemingly simple Unreal Editor flew way over my head. This brings me to my purpose here.